Read this disclaimer first!!
Wednesday, Apr. 03, 2002 - 6:51 a.m.
Becky and Jenny

McConnell Hall:

Becky had been reading a book when her beeper went off. It was her special beeper for when Jenny needed her. Jenny was very sick, and Becky, being her best friend in the entire world, took care of her from morning till night with no regard herself. It was because of this that Jenny was able to make it to the end of her second year at McGill.

Jenny did not like to ask too much of Becky. She felt that Becky did not deserve to have to care for a near-invalid. It was only 18 months ago that Jenny was perfectly healthy. She was a sports queen in her high school, boys and girls alike liked her (usually it's just one or the other) and on top of all that the faculty loved her, too. Now she was fading away, little by little.

When Becky arrived to Jenny's room, Jenny was deathly pale. Her eyes were closed and her breathing was raspy. Becky rushed over to her friend's side.

"Jenny! Jenny, I'll get a doctor, okay?" She tried to sound casual and calm.

As Becky turned away Jenny cried out: "No, Becky! Stay! Please don't leave me, Becky!" Her arm was outstretched towards Becky. It was imploring her. Becky knew it was the end. Then her arm fell for lack of strength. But she wasn't gone yet. Becky took her hand and kissed her palm, then Jenny caressed her cheek.

"Becky," Jenny said,"I just wanted to thank you. Everyone else left me. Everyone else went away and no one wanted to even look at me. And out of nowhere, you appeared. Why, Becky? Why did you take care of me for so long?"

Becky could hardly see through her tears forming. "I...it was...the right thing to do. You needed help. I didn't mind. I don't...mind." She caught herself at the last.

"Thank you Becky," Jenny whispered,"for being my friend. I love you more than anyone I have ever loved in my life. You above all others. You're so kind...Becky...thank you...won't forget...you...

Jenny's eyes glazed over in a sheen of death.

From the hallway, and in all the rooms of McConnell seventh was heard the full-throated wail of loss and despair. It penetrated walls, ears and hearts. People came out of their rooms to look at what had happened, but most of them knew. The ones closest to Jenny's end room peered in and burst into tears. It was too much to take, even though they all saw in coming.

Word spread throughout McConnell Hall quickly. By the time I arrived outside, even I knew what had happened, and I didn't even know Jenny. Everyone that I saw was crying, sobbing or walking aimlessly around, not seeming to know what they were doing. I felt an enormously weight on my heart. I wanted to scream in anguish. An angel...died. That could be one of the worst things in the world.

Later that same day I read in the paper that Jennifer Anne Hawkins, Jenny to the world, had died after becoming infected with AIDS transmitted by her boyfriend three years ago. The one person she trusted with her body. Speculation rose that he knowingly gave her the virus. "It was a mistake," she said. "Just a mistake."

I actually had this dream this morning. The one from the previous entry tied into this one. I wonder why I had this dream. Who was Jenny? Even more, who was Becky? Becky, the Dedicated. Hard to parse this one.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>