Read this disclaimer first!!
Wednesday, Oct. 02, 2002 - 9:23 a.m.
A fly on the wall of fate

"... FATE stresses the irrationality and impersonal character of events. ... The word is often lightly used, however. ... DESTINY emphasizes the idea of an unalterable course of events, and is often used of a propitious fortune."

Last night was October 1 for you and I, but I'm not so sure about Marc and Isabelle. I took the bus across the "U" of the metro system and arrived at Sauv� station at five to six. Immediately I bolted over to the sign to make sure it was still there. It was.

I walked about 25 feet away and waited, pretending to read. There are lots of people at that corner at any given time, but never for longer than it takes for the light to change. Sure enough, at 6:03 a young guy, maybe 17 about 5' 7", maybe 130 pounds, and sandy brown dissheveled hair showed up at the corner and stood there expectantly, looking around. He was wearing a grey hoodie and jeans that were far too big.

After waiting for around ten minutes or so, a girl arrived. She was about 5' 3", 125 pounds, with night-black hair in two ponytails, also wearing a hoodie (blue-grey), striped stockings and a skirt. I took a few steps closer.

It appears that he was looking for any girl that would look directly at him for more than one second.

"Isabelle?"

"Oui. Marc?"

They shook hands and did the kiss-kiss. Was this a first Internet meeting? Then why the public sign??

They walked a bit away from the sign towards some of the bus stops. I followed and sat on a bench pretending (well, not entirely) to wait for the bus and read my book. I was INCOGNEATO! Geddit?

It wasn't easy with them being a few feet away, not facing me and speaking French, but here's what I was able to figure out:

1) They hadn't met before in person.
2) He wants to leave here, learn English and pursue some kind of artistic dream.
3) She wants to do the same.
4) They think they can help each other.
5) They have to do it quietly.
6) They aren't the only ones.
7) They appear to like each other, but I couldn't really tell.

He or his group may be known by parents, and her parents do not want her talking to him. Maybe he is like the Pied Piper, but he lures people away from school and family to live like vagabonds. (Or like Tinkers, for Robert Jordan fans.)

I should do some research into this. I wonder if this is an established group, or something new. How organized are they? Are they a menace, or do they just promote people to follow their dreams? Are Marc and Isabelle even their real names? Why use the sign??? And most importantly, what fate is he trying to force??

I have more questions than answers.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>