Read this disclaimer first!!
Wednesday, Jun. 19, 2002 - 7:39 p.m.
JonasParker Saves the Day

The sun was shining, the birds were singing and I was jonesing for a Dagwood's sandwich. So I hopped on the 121 and went. I love Dagwood's. I love the sandwiches, I like the service. They actually make me believe that they are happy to see me, and everyone feels like a regular!

On my way back I get a call from my roommate D saying that there is a guy from Hydro Quebec there to turn off our power for NON-PAYMENT OF BILL! For fuck's sakes.

My other roommate, K, is responsible for paying these things, and for getting us to pay him back (i.e. notifying us of bills). No one else knew how much this bill was except him, and we assumed that the bill was getting paid.

D couldn't pay the bill, so I had to volunteer to pay it myself. Unfortunately, the guy would not wait for me to get home. It was decided that D would give him a check and that I would deposit the money in his account to make the check good.

It was $604.64.

I'm out $605. But you know what? I'm not even mad. I'm not anything. I don't feel anything other than, "I have a job to do, a fire to put out, so I'm going to do my job."

In K's defense, he had already worked out a payment agreement with Hydro saying that he would pay them by the end of the month. In mid-month he would give them $50 if he could. They accepted the agreement. He gave them $100 instead. A week later there's a guy there to cut off our power? No, that's fishy to me.

Defense #2: Our other roommate, M, who moved out in May, owes K about $1000. I guess that is partly why Hydro hadn't been paid in full yet.

Last night K and I worked out that either M now owes me $250 and he owes me $250, or he (K) owes me $500. (I owed $165 for Hydro, he owed me $60 for Internet.) At least I am not the one who owes money this time.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>