Read this disclaimer first!!
Sunday, Jan. 05, 2003 - 11:28 a.m.
Corporate Personhood

Have you ever wondered why corporations are considered people? Ever thought, "Hmmm, how is this faceless concept devoid of humanity worthy of having the same rights as me? How is granting human rights to these things helping the common good?"

I don't know, exactly, but I know that large corporations seem to rely on these rights to do anything they want. If they can use their money to influence politics in their favour, then they make more money. That means they can expand, and provide more jobs to plebes like you and me. Or even the not-so-plebish.

You see, things aren't quite so bad in North America. Most of us can earn a living, even if it is at some corporation, large or small. Corporations sponsor many key cultural events, for example, and it's probably because they can do things that people can, with sometimes extreme potency. (The Jazz Festival used to be sponsored by Big Tobacco, but that ended amid controversy a few years ago.)

Can we live without giving these rights to corporations? I think I might be able to, actually. It could just be my recent anti-corporate kick that I've been on for the past couple of months, though. But I don't think we could take these rights away. People who are used to corporate "benefits" will cry foul when they can't get their "cheap" Nike shoes anymore, or that they actually have to hear about the human cost of getting those shoes in the first place, or forgoing watching the Raptors play, because they are partially sponsored by one of those evil companies. As an aside, where does one buy high-quality ethical athletic footwear?

That article is digusting. Makes me think that this guy had the right idea, assuming he actually did the crime, which he didn't, I'm sure.

Yes, I do work for a corporation, but we're small, and aren't hurting anybody. Our clients, on the other hand...You see that vicious circle?

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>