Read this disclaimer first!!
Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2003 - 9:26 a.m.
LifeDeath

Life

Last night was Saab's last night in the country until March. He's going to visit his family in Egypt. We decided to go to Bily Kun, one of our formerly regular haunts. We sat down to a couple of drinks while waiting for Saab's former flame, Kathleen.

Kathleen is 23 years old. Brunette. 5'9". Unreasonably, unconscionably attractive. Probably the best breasts on anyone I know personally, and if I saw them, I doubt I would ever see anything better, strip club or no. And very physically fit. Six-pack abs. Tight, tight ass. And her eyes...She doesn't ever really have to speak; her eyes tell you the whole story. Kathleen is a spiritual and passionate young woman. Intense. The whole package. And you know what? She doesn't really think she is all that. Funny how that happens sometimes.

The three of us were there just chatting, chilling, getting caught up on life. She's getting $25/hr to surf the web. Sweet. But here's the thing:

S and I have 23 years between us. That's a long time. My age + Kathleen's age = S's age. But Kathleen has been seeing a 60-year-old man for the last two and a half months. 60! That's 37 years difference! Damn. I am fucking jealous of this guy, because she was lookin' FOINE. If I were 60 and I was hooked up with her, I'd be feeling pretty damn FOINE myself.

Death

Her step-father died suddenly three weeks ago. Heart attack. History of heart disease. He had his first attack at age 28. I guess it was bound to happen. Kathleen gave his eulogy. Apparently she totally brought down the house; not a dry eye in the place. She compared him to an angel that is brought to the earth for a particular purpose, enriching certain lives including hers and her mother's, then leaving just when everything is fixed and on track.

I must be getting older, because death and tragedy seem to be happening on a more and more personal level. More often, too. Ladeeleroy's brother passed away last month. Kathleen's stepfather. My client in Michigan (dead on the company basketball court age 43). Crystal's friend's brother. Crystal nearly lost her own brother last night (I think things are looking positive for him, though, thank God.) Krystal's cousin.

In 30 years, I will do as my mother does, scanning the obituaries regularly to see who you know that's dead. It seems as though everytime I visit, someone is dead. For a while I was asking, "So who's dead?" and she would answer as casually as if I asked, "So what's for dinner"?

It's only a matter of time until I have to deal, too. Mom and Dad aren't young. They're 67 and 68. And I think I somehow have some sort of extra responsibility as the youngest. I hope that there isn't a squabble among the five of us over their estate or anything. That would be terrible.

Saab and I left shortly after Kathleen did. I hope he has a good time in Egypt.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>