Read this disclaimer first!!
Monday, Oct. 28, 2002 - 9:10 a.m.
Philosophizing

So many things wrong with the world.

A Diaryland woman was beaten Friday night by an unknown and random assailant! BEATEN! For NO REASON! It's not like she was a political target. There was no racial motivation, and probably not a sexual one, either. Just a person at the wrong place at the wrong time. Yes, that's life. I suppose, on the flip side of chance, she could have found a bunch of money that no one else wanted. But still, it's an outrage.

WHy is it so outrageous to me, though? I know why. It's because two women were involved. I mean, I would be pretty pissed about this if it were two men, but not quite as much. That in itself bothers me, since I try to go for equality and liberty as much as I can. It shouldn't matter what the genders are. Some might theorize that as a man, it bothers me because I wasn't there to protect her. That's what good men do: protect. It doesn't matter that I don't know her and was thousands and kilometres away. Whatever, that sounds very much like bullshit to me.

And that leads me to consider Diaryland as a whole. It has only been recently that I have truly considered the relationships that can sprout up so easily. I bet they breed some rather fierce loyalty and other feelings. I'm about to go on a serious tangential limb here.

Some spiritual and religious people are very content individuals because their religion brings them peace, counselling and an outlet for negative feelings. They say that Jesus Christ as "Lord and Saviour" is a person who is always there for you, will always listen to you, will never judge you and will always love you. In other words, Jesus Christ is the perfect friend and teacher.

We aren't perfect, but Diarylanders seem to be able to fulfill roles in other people's lives as well as or better than people that you see everyday. It seems so easy to find someone who will listen, advise, kick your ass and even love you. Instead of praying to some mythical entity, we "pray" to people here in Diaryland. The chances that your prayer is heard in a relatively tangible way is about a million times greater. So in a sense, we could eventually have a pseudo-religion here. (I guess that makes Andrew High Praetor of Diaryland.) Instead of worshipping some faceless concept, we honour each other. It's this sense of community that allows me to know what happened to gratuitous and to feel compassion for her and revulsion for the incident. I'd like to do the math to come up with stochastic relationships and graphs to visualize and quantify these relationships.

Speaking of that incident, I don't know if I would have a problem beating the shit out of the assailant. But that is what is wrong with the world: wrath. I guess that why it is a deadly sin. People seem to understand that until something happens to them or theirs. But there can be no compromises with wrath. You can either reject it, or wrap yourself in it. Either way is complete, no halfsies. Realizing this now, I hope that I can not succumb to wrath when some injustice happens to me.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>