Read this disclaimer first!!
Monday, Jan. 13, 2003 - 8:47 a.m.
Parenting!

Reason #16 why I shouldn't be a parent.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
Sunday, Jan. 12, 2003 - 8:33 p.m.
Pisser 2

I suffer from a disorder called dumbassedness. It comes in many forms, but my version it is like this: my brain sometimes records my actions as being done as soon as they are thought or remembered, but not when they are accomplished. For instance; I might remember to bring a certain CD to work for a coworker. I'll think, "Better remember to out the CD in my bag." And then, my brain immediately records it as having been done. But I never did put the CD in the bag. It's like I remember to remember to do something rather than remembering to do something.

Today was -20 C again today. I started to make pancakes (Aunt Jemima mix) when I realized that I was out of milk. I was out of a lot of things, so I made a shopping list (the first time in years), checked it twice then left. I took me 15 minutes to find my hat. Couldn't remember where I left it.

I got to the store, and went only to the places where I knew I would find something that I could cross off my list. I would see the item, put it into my cart, and cross it off the list. This included the milk; the only reason why I decided to leave the house.

The reason I made the list was because it was so damn cold out that I didn't want to have to go out again. The grocery store isn't that close when the weather is that cold.

So I came home, unpacked my stuff and put it away, then resumed the pancakes. I looked for the milk. And looked and looked. And looked some more. Hey, guess what? No milk! I left it in store, in the checkout. I was PIIIIIISSED.

Just to be on the safe side, I decided to check my bill to see if I paid for the milk. There was no milk on the bill. None.

I distinctly remember seeing the milk. It was in a blue carton (I am one of those rare Canadians that doesn't buy milk in a bag). Sealtest brand, 2%. I remember picking it up and putting it in the cart. I looked at my list, and the milk was crossed out. So what the fuck happened??? WHAT HAPPENED?? WHERE WAS MY FUCKING GODDAMNED MIIIIIILK???!!!!!

I never found out. I suited up to try to leave and get some milk at the dep (cornerstore in Quebec). But wait! Where's my hat? I was screaming and muttering and @$%^&%$...It was frustrating. Just then Jenn BC calls. I vent all over her ass. And then I see that hat. It's under the kitchen table. Under the fucking table. I don't know how it got there, but there it was. I suppose I should thank Jenn for callin and getting me to sit down, otherwise I might never have seen the thing. I got off the phone, got my hat, went to the store, got the milk, came back and ate some fucking pancakes. They weren't even good.

**************************************

I settled into watching an episode of Mission Hill that I downloaded. I watched a lot of TV when I was with my family over the holidays, and wanted to get caught up. During this time I get an IM from S. She has bought a new monitor, but she was still having problems with lines appearing horizontally across the screen all the time. That's why she got a new monitor in the first place.

Anyway, since things weren't working and she was very upset, I offered to go over to see what I could do. She called me from her car when she got there, so I rushed to get dressed and leave. Couldn't find the hat, so I had to wear my "Russian Bomber" hat. I look like a black Russian in that hat. Geddit? Black Russian? Heh heh.

We determined that it was probably her video card causing the problem, and that I will run a full diagnostic tomorrow. She also had an old CD burner that she hadn't installed yet. Naturally I offered to install it. Unfortunately, she has a pre-con Dell machine that isn't easy to get into if you don't know how. Even with the instructions, it still took an hour to do it. Vague instructions. But I finally did it.

I could have installed the writer and she could keep her old DVD-ROM in the machine as well, but she couldn't see the point in it, so she gave it to me (after I asked. Well, I'm having problems with my DVD-ROM, so...) She then gave me her Photoshop 6 book, complete with CDs and everything! Nice deal, for a couple of hours work.

She drove me home. As I was going up the stairs to my house, guess what I realized? The hat and gloves were in her car.

So now I HAVE to find the first hat. Luckily, I have a "backup" of the gloves on my kitchen table. When will I learn?

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>