Read this disclaimer first!!
Saturday, Jun. 07, 2003 - 1:40 a.m.
Let's rip on Christen, shall we?

Since I have little to do these days, I thought I might pick apart Christen's recent entries.

From Affirmative Action Pisses Me Off:

"Way back when, when there weren't many black doctors or lawyers or executives, this was a good idea. It was a good start to lead to the black doctors, lawyers and executives that exist today."

Way back when? Way back when?? This isnt 2403. This is 2003. There still aren't many black or native or hispanic professionals out there, certainly not when you compare it to the general population, or the white population. But when you look at low-paying jobs, there's a too-large representation of black people. Black people are overly-represented in poor neighbourhoods. There is a higher crime rate. Lower test scores. Higher dropout rate.

There are many reasons for this. There may be some cultural value differences. It may be dumb luck. There is definitely bigotry involved. There is the fact that economically and socially, most blacks never had a chance to begin with. That is what affirmative action is trying to address. It has to be done, because leaving things to fix themselves will never work. There is too much going against the population for it to get itself out of the jam it's in. Hence, affirmative action.

"We don't need it anymore. I guarantee you, GUARANTEE that every single black woman in my office makes at least twice--twice--what my white mother makes. We were on welfare for a good chunk of my life. My family life was NOT exactly healthy or happy, and you know what? I did what I knew I had to do to avoid growing up and having a life like that. I also worked, and managed to squeeze in band (with a university-owned instrument, I couldn't afford my own). Just because you're poor or have an unhappy, unhealthy family life does not mean you're destined to be a failure."

It's very tempting to use a single example of an event and try to extrapolate to some conclusion. The people making the decisions hopefully are not so myopic.

Christen is an example of someone who is making it despite certain obstacles. Lucky her. I am glad she was able to do what she had to do to get ahead. I doubt, though, that many people in her position regardless of race would be able to do what she did, whether it be for sexual, racial or other reasons. Christen was, I assume, in a poor economic and social profile. But most in that profile cannot climb to the "higher" levels of society. Guess who is in that profile more than they should be? Black people. In other words, I think she is not typical in this regard.

"What about women? Women typically make less than men for doing the same job, that makes us disadvantaged--shouldn't we get affirmative action to help us be more successful later in life?"

I believe women do. There are a number of scholarships and bursaries that only women can get. There are a number that only Jews can get. And blacks, although in Canada I believe that is rare.

"They argue that affirmative action encourages interracial socialization and promotes awareness and understanding."

Misleading. Affirmative action, like integrated schooling, gives the opportunity to realize that black people might not be like they are too often portrayed on television. It doesn't, as Christen points out, automatically generate peace and love.

"I don't know one single person in this world that has never been treated a certain way because of their age, gender, color, size, etc. Not one. I don't know why one is worse than the other."

This is where I am particularly puzzled. It is great that she does not know anyone who has ever been treated differently (poorly) because of the way their whatever. It does sound as though she is living in a dreamworld, though. People do shitty things like that to each other all the time. Blacks, whites, Jews, gays, anglophones, women, the overweight, the elderly, and so on. It happens on a regular basis. But this is no excuse. Maybe bigotry was a necessary thing way back when (and I really mean WAAAY back when). It should be an evolutionary step to rid ourselves of it as a society. It may take a long time, it won't be completely gone in our lifetime, but it is something to really work for.

However, people can't wait 2000 years for that kind of social change. We need it now. And we have to accelerate the process now, too. Affirmative action might just do that. The more minorities in positions of power, the more role models and inspirations there are young people growing up.

From One More Thought:

"...but having a racially-segregated separate graduation ceremony? Why is this necessary? I don't understand how something like this promotes so-called diversity."

I don't think it was supposed to. I think it was to celebrate black achievement. I think it should have been boycotted if non-blacks weren't allowed to attend. I'm sure the university has by-laws preventing denial of admission due to race or gender (although for some reason men still aren't usually allowed to assist in rape-crisis centers). I could be completely wrong about MSU's situation, though. I do know that if McGill University's Black Student's Network wanted to have an event for its members, it wouldn't be a big deal. It's just another club holding another event for its members. Again, this could be completely different from what Christen is talking about.

All of that said, I still think that Christen is a helluva lady. It's not that she doesn't support affirmative action, it's the way in which she doesn't support it. The attitude surprises me, but maybe she's just having a crappy day.

1 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>