Read this disclaimer first!!
Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003 - 6:04 p.m.
My life is worth more than yours

Ever notice that those who oppose abortions are more likely to support war just about anywhere?

First of all, this is about the only time you will hear me discuss abortion. There are two subjects I normally go out of my way to avoid: abortion and Quebec separation. The rewards from "discussing" these things just aren't worth the grief, not to me.

So they want to "save unborn fetuses", but are willing to go kill a bunch of innocent children/people in another nation? Are these children as important as unborn ones? Apparently not. I think I know why.

I think that it stems from the belief that some people are worth more than others, and therefore killing them is worse, sometimes far worse, than killing others.

People seem have a magical notion that the unborn represent humanity in its purest, most pristine form: human potential. The next fetus could be "the one that saves me" (Oasis), after all. The next Jesus Christ. The one to fix everything in the world (something even Jesus Christ never did). Or maybe just a good person that the world truly can't have enough of.

People also hold innocence above pretty much all other virtues, if not in word, than at least in spirit. That would explain why (female) virgins are still held in very high regard in much of the world. You can't get more innocent than one who hasn't ever existed in this corrupt world. Destroying either of these perfections is the ultimate sin.

However, those of us already living on this earth outside the womb are corrupted already, because we exist outside the womb. The world is a scary and morally bankrupt place, or so some would have you believe. As soon as we are born we have sinned and are sinners; we pay the price for the Original Sin (and I am not just referring to Catholicism here). We are not perfect; we are worth far less than that. So it shouldn't be a big deal to order the deaths of thousands who aren't even like you because they aren't perfect, or even good, and neither are you, or you wouldn't support killing them.

It's all about ideals. Very, very, deep-seated ideals. I am not sure that pragmatists are as likely to support one and not the other, but I'm sure someone out there will attempt to prove me wrong.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>