Read this disclaimer first!!
Friday, Nov. 01, 2002 - 8:57 a.m.
The C�te-Vertu Race

First thing: There's a new banner/button thing at the bottom of the page. Click it to cavort.

______________________________________

Most days when I go to work it involved taking the metro to C�te-Vertu station. As you can see from the map, it's the last (or first) station on the orange line. During the morning rush hour, people act a little odd. Just before you get out anytime between 7:45 and 9 am, people start to line themselves up at the doors, jockeying for position, trying to be the first out so that they can get a seat on their bus, or even get on the bus. This minimizes their wait time, or so they think. When the doors open, people burst out of the blocks like Ben Johnson in Seoul.

And they're off...Daddy Longlegs shoots out of the train like a...shot! Right behind is Don't Be Late followed by TicTicTabarnac, Running Fool and B.O. on the Metro!

I swear it's like a horse race the way some of these people act! I've seen people push others out of the way! I'm sure part of it's a game to them, though. Three years ago when I was young and full of promise and hope, I would play my own version of the C�te-Vertu race. Racers often position themselves at the right door on the right car so that they can go directly to the stairs when they run out of the gates, I mean, the car. I would do that, too. I had a few strict rules. First, no running. That's base and vulgar. Second, no blocking others on the escalator. I think that was it.

I would position myself at the right place (some days it's easier than others), then walk briskly out of the car, up the stairs, quick right, then another, up the other stairs, then across the platform over the trains past the alto-sax player who plays only Andrew Lloyd-Webber and Celine Dion, up the escalator and over to the turnstiles. The turnstiles signify the end of the race. I called people who ran "runners" and I felt contempt for them. No running in the halls!

It's funny, but I would almost always place in the top 3. And here's something weird: I would sometimes imagine an announcer talking about me.

And there's Parker. Look at that long, healthy stride. You know he perfected that when he was working downtown years back...Oh, he's in fine form today, he should win today's race easily if he can just maintain his pace...

Hey, I have an hour commute every day! Cut me some slack here!

_______________________________________

Tonight is when I attempt to get a phone number from Krystal. Here's the plan:

Saab and his new lady friend are meeting me at MBM to hang out with Krystal. I will get there at 8, they will get there (dressed in Hallowe'en costumes because they are going to a party later) around 8:15-8:30. This way, I can warm Krystal up and score some bar seats. They will leave around 10 to go to their party, while I might stay for another beer and then get her number. The premise being that I will not be able to see her for three weeks if I don't get her number since I'll be out of town the next two weekends. Can't stay long because I have to get up at 7 to pick up my parents tomorrow at 8. Yes, they're coming to town for my birfday. I hope all goes well tonight. If it does, then I might have a date for the Christmas party! I am looking forward to it.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>