Read this disclaimer first!!
Monday, Nov. 11, 2002 - 10:38 a.m.
Toronto

Well, I just had a hell of a weekend. I'll talk about my birthday some other time.

I got up in Oakville Saturday at Matt and Anne-Marie's place. I slept in the same bed as Jeff. Nic was in the single bed in our room. SAM and Justin were in their own room while Matt and Anne-Marie were in theirs. Nic snored all night.

Me being 28 means that I have friends with nice houses in the burbs. We had a breakfast of smoked meat omelettes and tea, then headed out. (Note: must explain the smoked meat!) After a long drive into town due to excess traffic, we ended up in Kensington Market, where they have the coolest shit ever (I'm starting to sound like Crystal, for Christ's sakes). Very retro stuff here, as in 70s and 80s. Dan might appreciate some of this. I bought Crystal's birthday present from there. If anyone wants to make Crystal happy, buy her shit from there. From here I separated from my peeps and bought the wrong kind of rye bread for our lunch and took the long, arduous journey to Crystal's place by streetcar.

Montreal used to have streetcars, but got rid of them a long time ago. Possibly because kids with wheelchairs would get stuck in them crossing the street, like the one we almost ran into. Luckily another kid was pushing him.

Crystal lives in the Beaches, a superior Toronto neighbourhood. It's a little like where I used to live in Montreal, except that there's water.

We hung out together at her place. As I mentioned before, it was completely natural to me being there, hanging out with her and shooting the shit. I had a good time. We took a walk out on the boardwalk, then doubled back.

I saw a gazebo-type thing with children with lanterns, music and costumes. It looked like a Beaches Hallowe'en party (a little late, no?) I wanted to take a closer look, no against Crystal's wishes we approached the gazebo. Crystal immediately stepped in dog shit. After stopping at a couple of other stores we headed back. I decided to skip the big dinner with my friends, and it was a fucking good thing I did.

Yesterday I learned that Justin insisted that everyone split the bill evenly, then proceeded to order a $60 porterhouse steak for himself and a whole shitload of other stuff. If I were there I was having a $25-dinner max. Because of him I would have had to pay around $36 to finance his steak-eating ass. And that wasn't the only way he took advantage of us, but he deserves a small entry of his own.

I don't like most clubs. In fact, there is only one I can think of that I would want to go to, and I rarely ever want to go there. But there I was at this club called the Joker. Well, in a nutshell, it was everyone sitting around in couches, talking in small groups, looking like they were having a terrible time, listening to terrible music, especially Justin's girlfriend, SAM. It was not a great scene. It was a bit of a shame that Crystal may have gotten the wrong impression of these guys, but they weren't exactly being all that fun. I got to see Dave and his wife. It's too bad. He looks so stiff when she's around, and he was stiffer than usual that night. More on Dave and his wife some other time. Finally Nic and his crew (Dave and wife, and Mitch) left, so it was up to Crystal and I to finish our beers on the third floor and find everyone else.

The second floor was the eighties floor. We looked around for them, but didn't find anyone, when suddenly, "Laid" by James starts blaring throughout the house. Crystal and I were ecstatic. We danced and belted out lyrics to song after song after song for more than an hour. It was great. We never did find them (actually, they were on the first floor playing pool) so I crashed in the Beaches.

I woke up the next day. Crystal escoted me to Union station and I went out to Oakville to meet the gang. My possessions were scattered throughout the various groups of my friends and I actually ended up leaving my shoes and favourite dress pants there. More about yesterday and Friday later.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>