Read this disclaimer first!!
Monday, Aug. 05, 2002 - 8:33 a.m.
Eulogy to Gus

In an incredible twist of fate, it turns out that the body that was found in the Niagara region was, in fact, Gus' body. He is dead.

As of now, this is old news. They found out Friday evening, or late Friday afternoon. I only found out last night around 11 pm. I have no other news, so as far I know, they had a small argument, he took off, and never returned.

I met Clawfoot about 2 years ago when I started posting in a certain series of online forums that revolved mainly around women's issues. Her and I often had similar points of view and we got along fairly well. Of all the posters there, she was one of the few that I wouldn't mind having over for dinner (with Gus, of course) or going out for a beer with.

She was happiest, though, whenever she would talk about Gus, the Big Mean Bunny. According to those that knew the couple in real life, Gus and Clawfoot were a match made in heaven. They were so incredibly compatible that it seemed as though they were put on this earth to meet, have children and enrich lives.

Gus used to post every so often at those forums, too. We had a couple of things in common: both men posting as a minority. He was also very much into a former passion of mine: comic books. In fact, the last time I communicated with him, we talked about the "black" Captain America, whether the story is plausible and should even be told. (I got a kick out of having that discussion there.)

All in all, my memories of him are quite positive. But, I am secretly glad that I am not in the "inner circle" of forum friends. I am secretly glad that they weren't/aren't my friends in real life. If I were, I would share their pain in almost equal amounts. I would try my hardest to ease their own, realizing that in the end there is nothing I can do for either of them. That's a pretty awful feeling all on its own, knowing that you cannot help those close to you in anguish.

Gus, wherever you are, I hope you know how much you meant to people all across Canada, all over the world. And I hope that heaven grants you superpowers.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>