Read this disclaimer first!!
Saturday, Mar. 09, 2002 - 9:47 a.m.
Catalyst

McDonald's has been impressing the hell out of me lately. First of all, I'm not terribly happy about having gone there twice in three days, but yesterday they made my fucking week: They had green milkshakes.

I haven't seen one of those in more than 15 years. I used to get one every year when I was a little kid. Mmmmmmmm, minty. I was damn impressed.

I went over to Suj's place last night and said that "I feel like drinkin' tonight, like drinkin' tonight" while making the drinky-drinky gesture. Suj was down wit it. We proceeded to have some pretty deep conversations, one of which had to do with black, brown and Jewish solidarity. So it turns out that Suj's roommate's brother (Pakistani) works at a place that help underprivileged kids, normally immigrants. One little girl said that she would like to be a doctor. So he started telling her about what she must do to achieve that goal, and how great it would be, and that she might make a really good doctor. The director of the place pulled him aside and said that he mustn't ever get their hopes up like that. She said that these kids can never hope to achieve much more than to become factory workers, or some such thing. All because of socioeconomics. In Suj's eyes, race. And that set him off. I also discussed the treatment of my brothers by the police. We had an hour-long discussion about how no matter what we do, are will always be black and brown. Different. Quite a powerful conversation, actually, and as much as I would like to believe otherwise, I don't think that I can.

Later we went to Le Swimming and met up with Suj's old roommate and her mother, as well as a number of young guys, friends of hers from high school. I can't get over how pretty the mother is. And the daughter, well...she is one of the sexier younger women I have met. She is definitely attractive, but I have always kept a safe distance from her. She always struck me as someone who could potentially give out false charm to men partly for validation's sake and partly for other reasons. In the end, she seems like the type to break hearts, but I guess that perhaps hers is also broken at the same time. I never really got to know her as well as I should have, or could have, I suppose. I think we're going out again tonight. As as friend I would tell her to stay away from men for at least a few months. She hasn't been single since she was 13.

And there you have it folks. And now I am going back to bed.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>