Read this disclaimer first!!
Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2002 - 6:40 p.m.
Happy New Year

Jesus Christ, I gotta go! Since this will be my last entry of 2002, I will wish anyone reading this a Happy New Year! Now I have to go to either a block party (that's right, a block party on a rainy New Year's Eve in Montreal) or a house party.

Well.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2002 - 6:24 p.m.
Defensive

This is for Amanda:

Sometimes I get defensive (or offensive?) when people say certain "trigger" things. For example, if I think that someone is getting treated unfairly, I sometimes attack, either in a subtle way or an overt one. Or when I encounter certain attitudes that I think are dangerous, devoid of hope or overly cynical. I lash out and then rethink what I said after I was told that I was being jerk-like.

A small part of your entry was a bit of a trigger. It appeared, on the surface, to attack the idea of hope. So I reacted. My bad, but there it is. You see, I'm kinda big on hope. Hope's been good to me so far, and I am defensive when people even hint at dissing it. I rely on Hope when Action fails, and Action fails quite a bit.

So while I wasn't wrong to say what I said, perhaps I could have said it better.

You know what? I agree with you in that entry. That's why I personally never make New Year's resolutions. I attempt to resolve things when I am ready to resolve them, not even the year rolls over. However, I LOVE the idea of an annual collective reflection and planning.

Here's a New Year's resolution: quit being so defensive!

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look:
The feel:
The taste:
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>