Read this disclaimer first!!
Monday, Mar. 10, 2003 - 10:22 p.m.
West-End Talent

Three in one day. The third (or should I say, the second) is in the private folder, as it covers a TABOO topic (BOO!). I told you I had a lot of material to cover.

+++++++++++++++++

I first met Theresa Rundberg a couple of months ago.

The last time I had my hair done was in January. I went to see my hairstylist, Jackie for the 6 pm appointment in NDG. Hair appointments can sometimes take a while, especially when you know the stylist, she has her own place, and there is plenty to catch up on. So it was 8 pm before I was finished, but I didn't have any cash on hand and she doesn't have Interac.

So we walked down the street a couple of blocks to the bank machine at the bank. There were signs advertising RRSPs, or Registered Retirement Savings Plans. (I think that's 401(k) in the States.) In French, RRSP is REER. But when I glanced it from the corner of my eye, I saw "BEER". And wouldn't you know it? I got thirsty.

Jackie wasn't up to getting a drink right then, but she pointed me in the direction of a bar that she goes to sometimes.

I sauntered in, in a good mood, with good hair looking for good beer. A woman named Chantal served me my first beer. She was preoccupied with the drunk in the corner, and getting out of there on time since her shift was ending at nine. It was then that I met Theresa.

Theresa is 5'9", with wavy russet hair and an athletic build. She is actually one of the top Canadian Jeet Kune Do champs. Really. She has kicked so many stupid, arrogant male asses it's not even funny. I'd love to see that, actually. I'd love to see a woman kick the living shit out of some fucking asshole who thought that he could get away with blatant disrespect because he's a guy. Like an older version of this kid.

Theresa was relieving Chantal of her shift, and we got to talking. Not only is she a martial arts champ, but she is a sixth-generation Wiccan. Not the neo-Wiccan wannabes (her words), but real, earth-based hardcore Wiccan. Born and raised. Yes, her parents are hippies. She claims to have psychic abilities, like the ability to make things move (not a well-developed talent) and affect her environment with her mood. She can cause funny little things to happen, like pins and needles in your legs when you're trying to sleep across town. Sometimes her soul goes for walks, too.

But wait, there's more. She is one of the two bellycasters in Quebec, the other one being in the same neighbourhood. Personally, I think these things are a little creepy, but she finds the pregnant female body that aesthetically pleasing.

And, she sings and plays the guitar. She performs her own original music. I have been meaning to watch her do her thing for a while now, but she only performs on Sundays and I can't stand going out on Sunday nights in the winter, especially if it's not exactly close to home. But I finally went last night.

It was worth it. Her voice is lowish, but she can hit the high notes. It's frustrated, pining, hopeful, happy, quiet. She sounds a little bit like Natalie Merchant. Definitely has a voice that hints at country influences, although she doesn't like the genre. Her songs are exclusively about relationships, and she seems to favour 6/8 time, like me. I think I could sing her music, actually. It's simple, but good. She's so good that she has had, and turned down, record deals. I particularly liked her song, "Piece of My Being". I have to capture this music somehow.

All that and she is only twwenty-three. Oh, I forgot to mention the two-year-old son. Yes, she's pretty well-rounded it seems. Talent. She's all talent. I'll probably catch her act again soon.

This entry really does have a point, but I'll get to that in the next entry.

0 scrawls at the end of this hall

The look: reminiscent
The feel:
The taste: Mountain Dew
________________________
The Latest

Archives

Me

Guestbuch

Diaryland

<< >>